Venezuelan Supreme Court appoints new authorities to the National Electoral Council

Make a donation to Anon Candanga

Anon Candanga needs your support to keep delivering Militaryjournalism, to maintain our openness and to protect our precious independence. Every reader contribution, big or small, is so valuable. Support Anon Candanga from as little as €1 – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court of Justice (TSJ) of Venezuela appointed this Friday the new principal and alternate rectors, who will form the National Electoral Council (CNE), after declaring the unconstitutional omission of the Parliament in contempt for the appointment of the members of the entity.

The ruling establishes that Indira Maira Alfonzo Izaguirre is the new principal president of the entity and Rafael Simón Jiménez Melean will occupy the vice presidency. Tania D’Amelio Cardiet will be principal rector, as will Gladys María Gutiérrez Alvarado and José Luis Gutiérrez Parra.

So get it straight: legislative elections are enlisted in venezuela

Faced with the legislative omission of the National Assembly, the president of the Judiciary, Maikel Moreno, swears in new principal and alternate rectors of the National Electoral Council (CNE) of Venezuela.

In summary:

🔸All the opposition and the Venezuelan government agreed to nominate their candidates to form the CNE.
🔸The Venezuelan government nominated its candidates.
🔸Some Opponents did not nominate their candidates (including the Guaido party).
🔸The Venezuelan Supreme Court gave a term for the Opponents who did not nominate their candidates, to do so.
In the absence of an answer, the candidates who were present were democratically selected.